NORTH EAST BOROUGH COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

January 3, 2022

The Biennial Reorganization and Regular Meetings of North East Borough Council were held Monday, January 3, 2022, at 7:00 p.m. in Borough Council Chambers, 31 West Main Street, North East, PA 16428.

BOROUGH COUNCIL PRESENT: Denise McCumber

Bill Beardsley

OTHERS PRESENT: Jon Triana, Mayor Elect

Denise Fox, Tax Collector

Amber Belson, Council Member Elect Heather Jones, Council Member Elect Todd Luke, Council Member Elect Ryan McGregor, Council Member Elect

Pat Gehrlein, Borough Manager Dan Miller, Borough Solicitor

Nancy Anderson, Administrative Assistant Rebecca Bliss, Administrative Assistant Julio Pazmino, Wastewater Supervisor Wayne Yokom, Streets Supervisor

Sean Lam, Police Chief Robert Behrens, Jr. Allen Dalrymple Jeff Stritzinger Dave Thornton

Bill Klenz Jake Jones

Joseph Schneider

Dave Meehl Ray Schaff Nancy Luke Trever Luke Chris Luke

Chris Luke
Theresa Triana
Mike Triana
David Hirtzel
Kim Collarile
Rick Collarile
Greg Henning
Marilyn Belson
Bob Belson
Heather Hinkler

Chris Skrekla Kayla Skrekla Brian Ropiecki
Deb Wurst
Michael Hamman
Eric Riedel
Kacie McGregor
Steve Gregory
Others present, not signed in

REORGANIZATION MEETING:

Swearing in of Mayor Jon Triana- Nancy Anderson

N. Anderson administered the Oath of Office to Jon Triana as Mayor.

Swearing in of Tax Collector and Council Members- Jon Triana

- Denise Fox
- Ryan McGregor
- Todd Luke
- Heather Jones
- Amber Belson

Mayor Jon Triana administered the Oath of Office to Denise Fox as Tax Collector, and Ryan McGregor, Todd Luke, Heather Jones, and Amber Belson as Council Members.

Call to Order - Jon Triana, Mayor

Pledge of Allegiance

Mayor J. Triana called the Reorganizational Meeting to order at 7:02 p.m., at which time the Pledge of Allegiance was recited.

Nomination and Election of President

B. Beardsley nominated D. McCumber as Borough Council President. R. McGregor seconded. After a roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously. The vote was as follows:

Todd Luke	<u>Yes</u>	Bill Beardsley	<u>Yes</u>
Denise McCumber	<u>Yes</u>	Ryan McGregor	Yes
Amber Belson	<u>Yes</u>	Heather Jones	<u>Yes</u>

At 7:07 p.m., Council President Denise McCumber presided over the meeting.

Nomination and Election of Vice President

D. McCumber nominated B. Beardsley as Borough Council Vice President. T. Luke seconded. After a roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously. The vote was as follows:

Todd Luke	<u>Yes</u>	Bill Beardsley	<u>Yes</u>
Denise McCumber	<u>Yes</u>	Ryan McGregor	<u>Yes</u>
Amber Belson	<u>Yes</u>	Heather Jones	<u>Yes</u>

Nomination and Election of President Pro Tem

P. Gehrlein explained the role of President Pro Tem being third in charge if the president and vice president are not available. B. Beardsley nominated T. Luke as Borough Council President Pro Tem. D. McCumber seconded. After a roll call vote, the motion carried unanimously. The vote was as follows:

Todd Luke	<u>Yes</u>	Bill Beardsley	<u>Yes</u>
Denise McCumber	<u>Yes</u>	Ryan McGregor	<u>Yes</u>
Amber Belson	<u>Yes</u>	Heather Jones	<u>Yes</u>

Appointment of Registered Elector to Serve as Vacancy Board Chair

T. Luke motioned to re-appoint Chris Kelly as Vacancy Board Chair. B. Beardsley seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

Confirm Appointment of Erie County Tax Collection Committee Delegates (ECTCC)

R. McGregor motioned to appoint Pat Gehrlein, Nancy Anderson, and Bill Beardsley as ECTCC Delegates. H. Jones seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

Adjournment

D. McCumber adjourned the Biennial Reorganizational Meeting at 7:10 p.m. and called the Regular Monthly Meeting to order.

REGULAR MONTHLY MEETING:

MINUTES:

December 6, 2021

B. Beardsley motioned to approve the December 6, 2021, minutes as presented. R. McGregor seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

December 20, 2021

B. Beardsley motioned to approve the December 20, 2021, minutes as presented. T. Luke seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

ACCOUNTS PAYABLE:

Expense Approval Report (to be presented)

P. Gehrlein stated the expense report included end of the month and end of the year account closeouts and completed projects. New council members were given time to review the expense report. T. Luke motioned to approve the Expense Approval Report as presented. H. Jones seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

PUBLIC COMMENTS:

R. Behrens, Jr. asked for clarification regarding payment of volunteer fire personnel. D. Meehl, Fire Chief, described the shortage of available volunteers during the daytime hours and the incentive program that has been started for volunteers responding to ambulance calls only. R. Behrens stated his concern that this information was not shared publicly ahead of implementation.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS:

There was no unfinished business.

NEW BUSINESS:

Ambulance and Emergency Medical Services Agreement

P. Gehrlein stated the proposed Ambulance and Emergency Medical Services Agreement between the North East Borough, North East Township, and Crescent Hose Company is seeking to add part-time paid EMT (Emergency Medical Technician) positions for ambulatory services on weekdays from 6:00 a.m. to 6:00 p.m. during volunteer shortage daytime hours. The Fire Department will be responsible for paying

wages and other compensation or benefits. The Borough and Township will be equally responsible for procuring workers' compensation insurance coverage for the paid positions. After questions and discussion between council members, community members, and volunteer firemen present at the meeting, it was decided that a separate meeting should be arranged with both fire companies to discuss available options. A. Belson motioned to table the approval of the Ambulance and Emergency Medical Services Agreement until a meeting can be held and more information presented. T. Luke seconded. After a roll call vote, the motion to table the approval of the Ambulance and Emergency Medical Services Agreement carried unanimously. The vote was as follows:

Todd Luke	<u>Yes</u>	Bill Beardsley	<u>Yes</u>
Denise McCumber	<u>Yes</u>	Ryan McGregor	<u>Yes</u>
Amber Belson	Yes	Heather Jones	Yes

Committee and Authority Appointments:

D. McCumber appointed Council Members to Committees and Authorities as follows:

- Finance Committee
 - B. Beardsley, A. Belson, and D. McCumber
- Personnel Committee
 - R. McGregor, B. Beardsley, and D. McCumber
- Sewer Authority
 - A. Belson, R. McGregor, and D. McCumber
- Water Authority
 - H. Jones, T. Luke, and B. Beardsley
- Shade Tree Commission
 - H. Jones, A. Belson, and T. Luke
- Rec Commission

H. Jones

Second Monthly Meeting – January 17, 2022

P. Gehrlein stated that a second monthly meeting is not necessary this month.

CORRESPONDENCE:

Police Chief Report Code Enforcement Report

ANNOUNCEMENTS:

Presentation of 2022 Calendar

D. McCumber announced the 6:00 p.m. time change for 2022 Borough Council meetings. All meeting time changes have been advertised.

ADJOURNMENT:

At 7:37 p.m., T. Luke motioned to adjourn. H. Jones seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

Nancy Anderson (January 4, 2022)	
Patrick J. Gehrlein, Borough Manager	